First Painting

photo 3The first time I ever used paint on a canvas was while painting this black and white still life. This was the very first assignment in my painting class. I do not think I did a very good job on this piece, but I like to compare it to my latest works to see how much I have improved. During this painting, I struggled a lot with mixing the paints, and it was very difficult for me to smoothly transition into each shade of grey. I think this was a good first project for my teacher to choose, though, because it is a lot easier to deal with black, white, and greys than to start off using a variety of colors. Though I do not necessarily like this painting, I think I will keep it forever so I can always look back on where my art began.

Standard

Leave a Reply

